Fire District Info
Legal Notices
Contact Us

Fire District Info

The New Baltimore Fire District is the legal municipal government entity, governed by a Board of Fire Commissioners, which is responsible for fire protection for the residents and property located within the boundaries of the Fire District, located in Greene County, NY in the Town of Baltimore. It is a separate entity from the Cornell Hook & Ladder Company Inc., which is a non-profit association of men and women who provide firefighting services to the New Baltimore Fire District.

The Board of Fire Commissioners of the New Baltimore Fire District convenes for regular business meetings on the second Thursday of each month at 7:30pm and the public is welcome.

The five members of the Board of Fire Commissioners, who receive no remuneration for their service, are responsible for the overall operation of the Fire District, including administration, firefighter training, public education, upkeep of the Fire District's grounds and fire stations, procurement and maintenance of firefighting apparatus and equipment, maintenance of an emergency radio and alarm system, and procurement of insurance coverage including workers' compensation. The Board also determines the policies under which its mission is carried out.

The Board establishes an annual budget in order to accomplish these responsibilities. This budget is submitted to the Town of New Baltimore and the required taxes are collected for the Fire District by the Town. This Fire District tax differs from the voluntary donations solicited by the Cornell Hook & Ladder Fire Company Inc., which help the association of volunteer firefighters operate their organization. By law, Fire District taxes cannot be used to pay for many of the expenses of operating the Cornell Hook & Ladder Fire Company Inc. The New Baltimore Fire District expenditures are governed by state and municipal laws, and the Fire District undergoes an annual audit of its finances.

If you have question or concerns about the operation of the Fire District please feel free to contact one of the Fire Commissioners listed below or attend one of our monthly meetings.

Chairman: Ken Finke
Commissioner: Fred Ingraham
Commissioner: Steve Firstiun
Commissioner: Bert Poland
Commissioner: Cliff Meyer
Secretary: Natalie Linger
Treasurer: Mary Moore